Search IconA magnifying glass icon.
Search IconA magnifying glass icon.


Hospitality Design and West Elm are partnering once to present the third annual HD/West Elm Student Product Design Competition. Current students and those who have been out of school for up to a year were eligible to enter the contest.

The 2021 competition is focused on designing a family of lighting intended for hospitality and commercial spaces. The winning designer will receive a $5,000 prize from West Elm and have their product produced by West Elm.

Submissions are now closed. All 2021 winners and finalists will also be featured in the September issue of Hospitality Design magazine and celebrated at the HD Awards ceremony on September 21st, 2021 in New York.

Savannah College of Art and Design student Andrew Jacobs designed the 2020 winning entry—the Volum table collection. Laurie Sadove of the Pratt Institute was named the winner of the inaugural competition in 2019, and her chair design is currently in production.